Ruins of Lihula Stronghold
Lihula was appointed in 1211 by Riga archbishop Albert to be the centre of Estonia's bishopric. Instead of ancient Estonians stronghold that was on the hill a new stone stronghold was built in 1238. The owners of the stronghold were Danes, Swedes, Germans and Russians. At present time only stronghold walls are extant in ruins.
Interesting to know:
So far the excavations showed that Lihula Bishop Stronghold represents one of the most unique fortifications of 13th century in Baltics. The core of it was highly placed main stronghold. In the North and West directions in addition to wall it was protected by abrupt slopes of main terrace and trench filled with water.